Hotel Gino Park Palace**** is housed in a historic Baroque manor-house from 1612, located in the Orlové area of Považská Bystrica.
About this Hotel
The hotel offers accommodation, a restaurant, reception rooms, a wine cellar, a wellness centre and a summer terrace. Visitors can enjoy comfort and relaxation by walking along the network of paths in the well-maintained park surrounding the hotel. Inside the hotel, historic furniture and furnishing are exhibited, turning a visit to this hotel into a cultural experience, too. The manor-house also has a late Baroque chapel, thus making the hotel an ideal place for a wedding “under one roof”. A religious ceremony in the chapel or a civil ceremony in the park, a wedding reception in the stylish restaurant, accommodation in luxury rooms and suites and wedding photography in its beautiful premises are guaranteed to give you satisfaction.
Hotel Gino Park Palace ****
Hunting (Cigar) lounge
Bakchus wine cellar
Atrium summer terrace
Hotel Gino Park Palace**** is housed in the Orlové manor-house Orlové, which was built in 1612 by the Hungarian noble, Žigmund Balassa.
Originally, it was a Renaissance single-storey manor-house which was supposed to bring the promise of new, modern and comfortable living for the aristocratic Balassa family, which the cold and uninviting Považský castle could no longer provide. At the time, it was quite common for the nobility to abandon their castles – unconquerable, stone fortresses whose defensive function has lost their meaning – and to build modern, comfortable family seats in the town or countryside. The manor-house was then known as Zsigmond Háza, or Žigmund’s house.
At the beginning of the 18th century, renovation works turned the manor-house into a two-storey four-wing manor. Another important owner who had a large impact on the manor-house’s appearance was Pavol Balassa, the great-grandson of its founder. In the first half of the 18th century, he together with his wife, Juliana Batthyány reconstructed the manor-house in a grandiose Baroque style. The park and courtyard with its fountain were also added at the time. We can read about this reconstruction on the commemorative inscription above the manor-house’s entrance gate. Count Pavol Balassa was on very good terms with Empress Maria Theresa, who liked to visit the manor-house. The armchair on which Maria Theresa liked to sit has even been preserved until now in the manor-house. In the entrance gateway, we can see the alliance coat of arms of the Balassa and Bathyány families. Both family coats of arms are joined by the imperial crown expressing thanks to Maria Theresa and the imperial court for confirming the Balassa family’s title of count.
One of the most precious parts of the manor-house is the late Baroque chapel of St John of Nepomuk with its Rococo interior, built between 1770 and 1780. The chapel takes up two storeys in the manor-house’s west wing. The Balassa family owned this grand family seat for a long 250 years. Later, it had several owners, not of all which were of benefit to the manor-house or its surroundings. It is interesting to note that at the beginning of the 20th century, the manor-house was owned for several years by the world-famous Czech violin virtuoso and composer, Jan Kubelík.
The last major reconstruction that nowadays resulted in the four-star hotel can be credited to his last owner Dr. Nodari Giorgadze.
- Access for wheelchairs
- Children playground
- Non-smoking rooms
- Nonstop reception desk
- Lobby bar
- Wine cellar
- Conference hall
- English park
- Room service